Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish.

Yesterday, I discovered the inspirational Steve Jobs graduation speech given to the Stanford University Class of 2005.

This discovery could not have come at a better time.  As a college senior, I find myself going to bed knowing exactly what I want to do with my life only to wake up the next morning with a completely different outlook on my future.  While I know that I am certainly not alone in my uncertainty, it is nevertheless difficult to constantly have this incessant ambivalence following me around.

Since I was born, I have had my life spelled out for me.  And now, for the first time in my life I must make my own decision.   It is both empowering and terrifying.

While I could ramble on about every last droplet of worry coursing through my veins, I will save you the misery.

The most resonant quote of this speech is: “Stay hungry. Stay foolish.”  To me, this translates into never settling and always maintaining that insatiable hunger to learn, to love, and to live.  And the “stay foolish” part?  Well I see that as just remembering to never take life too seriously.  And as a girl who has been feeling somewhat stagnant and uptight, these words were the perfect medicine for my racing mind.

What makes this speech even more powerful is that it is coming from the mouth of one of the most successful humans on Earth.

Although this video did not make me go: “AHA! I know exactly what I want to do with my life!” it did provide me with a healthy dose of inspiration just when I needed it most.

So here’s a little inspiration for anyone out there who needs it on this Monday morning.  Enjoy!

Edited to Add: RIP Steve Jobs.  You changed my world.

One thought on “Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish.

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

