Buzzed.

I have a love-hate relationship with coffee.

Love: With the change of seasons comes an excitement of coffee’s different forms: a hot, soul-warming cup o’ joe in the colder months and an perfectly chilled iced coffee during the dog days of summer.

Hate: If I don’t have a cup of coffee within two hours of waking, I will have an annoying, whole-body headache the rest of the day.  And for the mornings when I am simply not craving coffee, this is quite the hassle.

So I decided that rather than curse my addiction, I shall embrace it!  Boston has a plethora of hip coffee shops that appeal to the caffeine zombies in all of us.  I decided to do some research on the city’s favorites while fending off that horrid headache.

1.  Hazelnut Latte- Thinking Cup, Tremont Street

Seeing that Thinking Cup is  the number one cafe in Boston (according to Boston Magazine), I had to try it out.  While I have been known to order a hazelnut iced coffee from Dunkin’ Donuts in the summer, this takes hazelnut to an entirely new level.  The flavor is pure hazelnut; certainly not from a pump bottle.  In fact, I think there are actually ground hazelnuts in this beverage because it has a rather gritty texture.  Don’t worry though- it’s very subtle and enjoyable.

2.  “Atticus Finch”- Voltage Coffee & Art, Kendall Square

Atticus Finch?  Although I’m not sure how this latte is related to “To Kill a Mockingbird,” the vanilla and burnt sugar flavor of this latte was truly delicious.  The one thing that I remember most about this latte was its strength.  I drank this in about 10 minutes and 30 seconds later my legs were bouncing and I was getting lots of work done.  I liked it.  I liked it a lot!

3. Crema Latte- Honey and cinnamon- Crema Cafe, Harvard Square

When I saw this drink on the specials menu and ordered it, the cashier said that it was her favorite beverage on the menu.  Given the dozens of items on the menu, I thought that that was a pretty significant comment.  While I typically only put honey in my tea, this was one of the most unique coffee drinks that I discovered along my caffeinated journey.  I was a little apprehensive that the coffee would overpower the honey, but both flavors were certainly discernible.  They created

It was a chilly, yet beautiful, Sunday morning and I remember sipping on my latte, letting the caffeine settle in, and feeling that all was right with the world.

So if you’re in the Boston area and you find yourself with a throbbing caffeine headache or are just normal and want a nice cup of coffee, please check out any of these spots.  They’re real gems!

P.S. Stay tuned for Part II

2 thoughts on “Buzzed.

  1. why did i not know about this new blog of yours?? and can we please have a date to the thinking cup asap??? xo

Leave a Reply

