Things I am currently loving.

I have been feeling extra grateful lately.  So I figured I would share the things that bring a smile to my face on the regular.

hip-hop yoga

NOT me.

My relationship with fitness goes through phases.  I fluctuate from “I walk to the grocery store and dance in my room to Britney several times per week.  GOOD ENOUGH.” to “OMG I love exercise/endorphins/sweating/a tight booty.”  I am currently in the latter phase.  And to be honest, I have never felt better.

I have discovered that I have exercise ADD and so I enjoy exercise that keeps me on my toes. So, my current exercise regimen is a lovely combination of fast-paced workouts that make me sweat/whisper expletives under my breath (And Zumba.  Always, Zumba).  Also, I need  good music to motivate me to move my body.  Hip-hop (vinyasa-style) yoga is the best of both worlds.  PLUS who doesn’t love doing a good downward dog to “Super Bass”???  NOBODY, that’s who.

2% pineapple chobani

I eat this stuff too ravenously to take an actual picture.

If someone were to ask me what my favorite fruit/fruit flavoring is, I would probably say strawberry, blueberry, banana, coconut and several other fruity babies before I even thought of pineapple.  I am NOT a pineapple girl.  Sure, I ate about 16 pounds of it prior to my wisdom teeth extraction, that fateful spring break.*  However, Chobani has made me a pineapple convert.  While none of their flavors every really disappoint me, the first time I licked the lid of this bad boy, I knew I had found my greek yogurt soulmate.  Plus, I love that it’s 2%. Low-fat (not non-fat) dairy for the win!

*pineapple contains bromelain, an enzyme that tenderize meat, is said to reduce the risk of swelling after you get your big ol’ wisdom teeth yanked from your mouth.

pure barre

HOLY MUSCLES.  In addition to my yoga/zumba “regimen,” I have recently added this barre-based exercise routine with a serious cult-following.  At first I thought to myself, “I did ballet for like 13 years.  I doubt this will be that hard.”  BOY WAS I WRONG.  I would describe Pure Barre as a fast-paced pilates class that makes your triceps, biceps, quads, inner thighs, calves, booty, and abs burn like Dante’s Inferno.  All in a matter of 55 minutes while wearing socks with grippies on the bottom.  PERFECT.

saturday mornings

Image

So I can devour a French Toast Muffin from 3 Little Figs, a lovely little bakery/cafe just outside of Davis Square.  There are so many good things on the menu that I plan to return every Saturday for the rest.of.my.life

kombucha

I can’t really explain it, but I just love the way it makes my body feel.  This honey-ginger kombucha from Whole Foods is particularly dynamite.

friends (old & new)

Never before have I been so grateful for friendship/aware of the importance of it in my life.

Gayle.

Anyone who snorts Kashi Go Lean! Crunch cereal for breakfast has my respect.  Gayle Waters-Waters is no exception.   My dear friend introduced me to this life-changing YouTube series and ever since I have been incessantly quoting these glorious videos and giggling to myself in class thinking about Gayle’s 250 lb. treasure chest of couscous.

WATCH THIS NOW AND FALL IN LOVE!

cooking (again)

pineapple upside-down cake

baked POST-pineapple Chobani discovery. (it’s pineapple upside-down cake)

pizza. hands down my favorite thing to make.

irish soda bread

irish soda bread mmmm

frozen lemon meringue pie for Easter.

For some reason, I took a little hiatus from the kitchen.  But Julia got her groove back and I am once again whipping out the Cuisinart stand mixer and pizza stone like there’s no tomorrow.

this song:

it just makes me happy!

HAPPY THURSDAY, Y’ALL!  Life is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

